Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Top Gear

Fresh back from Plymouth, and 10 hours of driving later, I can officially say, at the age of 30 I have arrived at middle age!

This car/minibus, is brilliant!

We'll... I say brilliant. .... Brilliant and yet, crap.

Firstly, the seat is brilliant. It's so comfy I drove for 5 hours straight without realising I'd not had a break! No numb bum, no sore back - I arrived fresh and happy. The car is so quiet, and smooth, but put your foot down and you go like the clappers!

On the down side, the wing mirrors are tiny, it's crying out for a reversing camera, you can't have the satnav on without the radio also being on, the radio itself is impossible to navigate between stations, and the read view mirror is also puny!

But the thing that amazed me most in a "how the hell did they cock that up" sort of way is demonstrated by this photo. This is how I drive. Right hand at 2 o'clock, left hand relaxing somewhere. But even with the seat as low as it would go, and the wheel adjusted as high as it would go, I couldn't see how fast i was going!


Even if I did pear under the wheel and my hand, the speedo counts up in 20s from 0... 0, 20, 40, 60, 80... So 30 and 70 - surely the most common speeds are not actually marked!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.