Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Under Achieving

2 minutes. That's all it took to be that little bit too late to get the last single scull from the boat house and get on the water! Instead as the temperature hovered around the mid to high 20s, I settled my self on a rowing machine by the door (no air-con in the gym!), and had a go at my first half hour erg!

With no idea how to pace my self, I settled to the required 20 strokes per minute and found a steady pace. In the end, with sweat stinging my eyes and soaking me from head to foot, I finished with a flourish and hit 1:44 pace. In the end, I covered about 7300m, and eagerly went to check my time against the other guys in the squad.

It seems that my steady pace.... is about 500m short of the expected distance!

Oh well, now I have a target!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.