RIP Ramone

It is ironic how sometimes you see something you don't expect and today was one of those days...

The twins were performing at the Beacon Arts Centre in Greenock in a show written for children to mark the Commonwealth Games. hey have been rehearsing all week and have loved the experience. Some of you will remember my friend Kevin passing away last year, his nephew was one of the leads and I met Kevin's mum and dad and brother. It was lovely to see them and to talk with them, good people who I have known all my life, funny how life comes full circle as the twins and Derek's son share a stage...

I read this week that Tommy Ramone had passed away, one of the original members of the punk pioneers. Whilst waiting to go into the auditorium I wandered round some of the art on display in the upper foyer and as I reached the end this beautiful piece of stained glass was mounted on the full height window. Johnny Ramone stares out at you and exudes attitude, not then a traditional scene but one commemorating punk, protest and disaffected youth. A band I have a sly affection for and Tommy's passing made me a little sad but today this piece made me smile to remember their music and mirth.

The twins and the other children in the show were amazing but sadly like a lot of things the council do not allow cameras, i find it sad that as a parent I cannot photograh this landmark in the twins development

I hope you enjoy this beautiful piece of art, thank you to journojan for letting me know it was the work of the uber talented Alex Galloway, I hope you enjoy the photo and of you get the chance swing by and see it for yourself... Simply stunning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.