Red Eye

His Lordship and I surfaced today knowing it was definitely Saturday and that we had eye test appointments at the other side of town, a jolting half hour bus journey away.

This is my left eye looking like the red planet Mars with newly discovered water ways on the surface. I am assured that all is as it should be and the change in my vision does not warrant spending any money on updating my glasses.

The journey home with the pupils of my eyes dilated for the test and unable to focus properly in the light made me feels lightly nauseous, but I recovered in time to sit outside at the local café and watch the world go by, and a frenetic world it is after the tranquility of Orkney.

No sooner have the students departed from this university area, than the tourists arrive in droves and the paraphernalia for the Edinburgh Fringe starts to be erected nearby.
I know from experience that a lot of bus pass Edinburgh worthies, myself included, think ' Bah! Humbug,' and wish we had scheduled 6 weeks holiday elsewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.