Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A Private View

My parents possessed a Penguin Crime series (the green and white ones) copy of "A Private View" by Michael Innes, and when I read it as a young teenager I thought the viewing with which it opened a glamorous affair very far removed from my own life. But here I was this afternoon attending just such a function in Benmore Gallery, at the opening of an exhibition "No Obvious Monuments", paintings of Scottish coastlines and landscapes by Robin Webster and Charina Beswick.

Turned out I knew both the artists from other circles, as it were - but that made no difference to my appreciation of their work. Lovely, lovely paintings of the kind of things I love to photograph. The rain grew ever more torrential over the gardens outside, but I didn't care.

Worth coming home for. If you're in the area, take a look - the exhibition runs till 3 August.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.