Capital adventures

By marchmont

Dogs and teacakes

This is a temporary blip, as like it says, I'm saving the surprise.

Not my best day this month. The weather was miserable, dreich, dreich and dreicher. I spent most of the day doing domestic and financial stuff, more sitting. I had planned to walk over the hill to the Manor but the rain put paid to that.

Then it was time to go West and I allowed myself to be rushed out the house by #2 son, off to see #1 gf. Rush, rush, rush. Got out the car at E's and realised I'd left the umbrella in the car but it was ok, it wasn't raining - yet. Then I thought I'd left the tickets at home, no they safely in the bag, checked on a neighbouring wall. So all good. Down the town in good time to take stuff back to a shop and have a coffee before meeting L at the station.

But disaster, no purse and my train tickets were in the machine and I needed my card, in my purse. So a rush back up home, retrieve the purse, left on the dining room table, run for a another bus and back down the hill and got there, on time!

So west to the first dress rehearsal for the Opening Ceremony and it was wet, very wet! We got wet waiting for a bus. We got even wetter being directed way round Celtic Park and continued to get even wetter as we queued 40 minutes for the 'airport style' security. We took our seats 3 minutes before the off and sat soggy but not cold for the next 2 hours.

The rehearsal was interesting - especially watching the cameras, the aerial one and the cameraman on the segway! The show was entertaining, but I won't spoil it for you. There were stand ins for the key people eg HM and HRH, and some of the performers but Subo and Nicola Benedetti were there in person, as was my new boss, Jon Sparkes currently with UNICEF.

We left through the west entrance, where we thought we'd been going to go in (thus avoiding the walk round the Park) and had to walk back to town. It was busy and that was with half the seats vacant. Then home on a packed and very long 11 p.m. train, hence the back blip.

I won't see the actual opening ceremony. I'll be on yet another train, coming north. I haven't made my mind up about it. But look out for the dogs!

Come Thursday I'll probably put up a more interesting photo from the rehearsal.

Edit: and the dogs were the stars of the rehearsal. Slip sliding across the puddles and the wet, the recalcitrant one or two being carried, the ones sniffing out the tracks of those who went before and the few white ones, that got a bit muddy round the undercarriage. And those blobs that looked like giant mushrooms turned out to be Tunnock's teacakes. Definitely designed for tv it looked great on the night!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.