NAMING DAY

We travelled south (6 hours door to door) for G's grandson's naming day, an alternative to a christening, but then in his speech the baby's father forgot to mention C's names. But it was a very jolly occasion of about 50 people including the babies born from the antenatal classes the parents attended. Youngest granddaughter said to me that there were an awful lot of babies there, but they would all be C's friends. I asked her if she had noticed in which way they were all similar and she said no. They're all bald, I said. She nearly fell off her chair laughing. I must be a better step-grandmother and not teach her bad ways.

The sun shone and it was much hotter than Yorkshire sun so I was wilting, but the thunderstorms they have been experiencing for the last couple of days and which were forecast, stayed away. And the chef was a star. He certainly did not get that skill from G.

This is a photo of the church at Puttenham, a delightful village. The drummer from Queen lives next door but I didn't think I ought to blip that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.