Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Black Redstart.

I had two trips through town to the accountants today, it's that time of year! The second trip was rewarded by seeing this little character.

Now why had I taken my huge handbag with me? I usually shove a couple of tenners in my pocket and only take the camera bag. To add to this, I bought a carton of soup so I could save time by having lunch on the move.

Encumbered as I was, I had to struggle to get the camera out without spilling the soup when I saw the bird. It was cheekily hopping around the shoppers in the centre of town. I knew it was something different, it looked like a robin but no red breast, the red was on its tail.

One shot was all I got, I couldn't wait to tell The Man! I said I'd seen a redstart, female I thought, within moments I was ringing him back telling him it was a BLACK redstart. (What did we do, away from the reference books, before Google?) Now that got him annoyed, he has never, ever seen a black redstart. So, getting a snap of it made my day! I don't mind admitting I'm wrong, if anyone knows it is something else please tell me.

The soup was very nice too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.