Mikey88

By Mikey88

The Wall

This is the part of the wall that I am working on at the moment. I'm trying to put in about an hour each day. These two enormous stones sit on top of the wall and were completely surrounded by soil and roots when I began to clear them. I have managed to free two sides completely and am working on the gap between the two stones at the moment. The gap was filled with a mass of roots, lodged in decades of soil which the original tree had created. It was difficult getting the secateurs into the gap, and the range of angles at which I could saw was really limited. However, lots of patience has cleared about three quarters of it out - and I've now reached thicker roots.

The stones themselves are huge. I have put all my weight against the right hand one and it hasn't moved even a fraction of an inch. I'm not sure if that is because it is so heavy, or because the remaining roots are still holding it in place. I think they may at one time have been part of a hearth or fireplace, as there seems to have been burning on them. Hopefully they will give more clues when they are removed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.