It's a Frog's Life/It's a Bug's Life

We took a quick hike into the game lands near our house on this morning. The air felt very close; a return of more typical July weather.

We heard some splooshes as we walked past a favorite beaver pond. Upon stopping for a closer look, I came across this rather small (but not tiny) frog nearly camouflaged in the green grasses just a few inches from shore.

If I hadn't been looking closely, I'd have missed it. But its eyes gave it away: big, bulgy, froggy eyes. (All the better to see you with, my dear!)

I didn't notice the tiny green bug in the lower left corner of the picture until I got home and downloaded my photos. I think we can assume the bug sees the frog. But, more importantly, does the frog see the bug? Wild Kingdom, on a very small scale: the endless dance of predator and prey.

But then I intervened, albeit unintentionally. I took one step closer, trying to get a different angle on the frog, just in time to see it disappear into the mud with a splash! And so the tiny green bug got away, at least for now.

The song: in honor of those very large froggy eyes, here's one of my favorite 80s tunes. Kim Carnes, with Bette Davis Eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.