My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

End of an Era.

I am sorry to inflict yet more white on black writing on you, but this is not about my calligraphy work. It is about recognising that a phase of life is over.


This is the pile of pre written notes I had ready for my milkman, for every kind of order.
He started (after 12 years) to get very erratic. Milk would arrive (noisily) at 5.00 am some days but sometimes, 4.00pm, or days would be missed... this went on for about a year. Then I went to the shop and bought some, in plastic, at half the price.
I gave up on my milkman about a month later.

I was having a huge sort out today, and found the old notes. I realised I would not be going back to the wonderful recyclable glass bottles, and his dawn crashes, so the notes would never be used again.

So these are going in the bin. No more Milkman. And I suppose another step away from some comforting old ways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.