Double Shot Mummy

By JPS

Last day being a one-year-old

Our precious baby girl. Cuddling her to sleep tonight, watching her eyes close and feeling her breath relax for the last time as a one-year-old (Unless she reverts to past habits of waking at around 1 am!), was...nice. Memories of doing the same with the twins floods back and it reminds me to enjoy every moment possible.

The afternoon was spent making cards for her birthday.... Bailee and Oscar had a wonderful morning at Creche Out. Oscar informed me that they were scientists today and that they mixed cornflour and water together to make a solid.... but it went runny when they picked it up.

Aunty KP came with us all this morning to drop them off and say goodbye as she took her flight back to NZ today. We are sure going to miss her but made the most of our time together and it was great for everyone.

Tonight Maple asked for her baby and for "Pinky" to sleep with.... she wants to call her bear "Pinky" rather than "Beau". Bailee's is called "Pink" so I think she is wanting to be a big girl like her sister!

Everyone is excited as we are having a family party tomorrow, planned by the twins. They want homemade fish and chips, fruit kebabs and of course birthday cake. They helped me make my Aunty Kib's recipe for banana cake yesterday (The same as they had for their first birthday). We even made small gluten free ones for Oscar. Tomorrow I will ice it :-)

I feel a bit bad as we don't have a big birthday bash organised for Maple. What is it with the third child? I love them all the same of course (For different reasons).... But Bailee and Oscar had a big party in a hall we hired with so many toys.... Maybe it is the fact that I know for sure third child on what really counts. I hope she doesn't round me up about it one day!

So Maple, my sweet girl. Don't grow up so fast please this year. Sleep well and look forward to wishing you a very happy birthday tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.