Pilot In A Storm

~ You learn to know a pilot in a storm ~

Lucius Annaeus Seneca

True words indeed.

We left Canna on a slightly choppy and windy morning, sails up and eyes toward Rum.

Within a couple of hours, the winds had increased and the seas followed suit.

Everyone was soon clipped on to lifelines and things became a bit quiet...

We attempted to anchor on Rum but it was all a bit chaotic with anchored yachts drifting so the decision was made to press on for Arisaig.

The next two hours were horrible. Massive waves and strong winds.

I attempted to cook lunch below deck and was doing quite well until I happened to look up out of a window and saw the angry sea.

I spent the next few hours clutching on for dear life whilst the children played cards, read their kindles and slept...

All the while, I wanted to ask the skipper just how bad it was....but I really didn't want to hear the reply. His face never changed the entire time.

After a while, he looked at me, and said "you are not in any danger, this boat can handle much worse and I've been out in worse.."

I looked up and a huge sea eagle was right above us - a guardian angel perhaps?

I only took 12 photos today, none during the worst parts so today's Blip is from before the madness...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.