Northrepublic photolife

By northrepublic

Dreaming of an Insect

I wanted to capture today an image of a painting in my hallway. It was bought from an Aboriginal woman in an artists' collective studio in Alice Springs, Australia. She said it was an insect (she did specify, but I framed over the blurb on the back, aaargh). A closer look shows it is entirely made up of perfect dots.

My visit was 10 years ago, and I will not forget it. I was on my way to Uluru (used to be called Ayers Rock). While the tourists struggled with the 40 degree heat in vests and shorts, the Aboriginal locals felt it was a cooler day and wore ski jackets. Yes, really.

I loved the artists collective, set up by the Australian Govt to offer patronage, and to encourage the aboriginal community to produce and make a living out of their art. Art can flourish where there is financial assistance. We need more of it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.