But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Twenty-Four Hours on That?

After a reasonable night’s sleep under canvas, I was woken at 4:00 a.m. by the rain; it had been forecast but, after a month of almost continuously fine weather, why did it have to start this morning. At 6:00 the rain became very heavy and at 8:00, I realised that my pillow was sopping wet. After hurriedly removing everything to the dry car, I drove up to Hildegard’s cafe for breakfast pleased that I had had the foresight to prepare the trike the evening before. Having decided that I wasn’t going to get a blip today, I was dealing with the last minute preparations when I spotted this young lady zooming around the car-park - she wasn’t going to be riding the race herself but was sensibly leaving that to her father.

The rain did ease off just before the start of the race but, since we were expecting it for most of the next two days, I planned to start wearing wet weather gear and hoped to be able the remove it later on. There is no way of staying dry while cycling in the rain, it is neither possible to keep the rain out or to let the perspiration out despite what Mr Goretex claims.

I’ve just posted yesterday’s “Ragged Robin.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.