Parkin Version # 1

This is my version of Parkin (not to be confused with the Rower's version). We unwrapped it today, because it's cold, miserable and raining.

It's a Mary Berry recipe but has turned out way too dry for my taste, and I have every confidence that the Rower's version - to be unwrapped on Friday - will be miles better. His is Pam Corbin's version, and is the one whose recipe I have been sharing around the globe. If you want a copy email me: tina@gmv.com.au.

I cooked mine for too long, and was away from the kitchen doing something else, when I should have been keeping an eye on it. But, I do have to say the flavour is fantastic, deep and rich.

It does remind me however, much as I admire Mary Berry, I have never had much success with her recipes. There is a world of difference between flours in different countries, and the amount of moisture they take, and I think that has something to do with it.

For those who don't have a clue what I'm talking about - don't worry about it, it's not life threatening.

Mary Berry has been around since I was a gal - and that is a long long time. She is a famous English baker, who has re-emerged into the spotlight as a judge of the reality cooking program Great British Bake-Off, along with Paul Hollywood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.