My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Double Take.......

................ of this Solanum crispum which I first blipped on the 10th of May and it is still flowering profusely! I planted it to replace one that was blown down together with the metal arch over which it grew.

The arch was replaced with a more sturdy wooden one and this was planted. The first, second and third years it was ok but this year it has gone mad and has flowered itself silly for a full two months - is still growing and has lot more buds to open. True value for money!!

Ever since May, I have had to keep cutting it back - it got to the point when I could hardly get down the side of the house - this constant trimming is perhaps why it is doing so well. I can recommend it as a good climber and, in a mild Winter, it can keep it's leaves. Later on, it should produce berries as an added bonus.

The yellow colour showing through the leaves is a Golden Elder - it's getting a bit big now so will have to have a severe haircut in late Autumn when the red berries have gone.

Another fine morning - we seem to be having a spell of lovely weather - though we could do with some rain during the night - Temperature is around 70 Deg F.

Enjoy the rest of the week - I can't believe that in 9 days it will be August - don't where on earth the year has gone!

I think it looks much better on large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.