The day after

A pretty sleepless night. Yesterday Alfie was more grown up and mature than I have ever known. Speaking to doctors and nurses with a maturity well beyond anything I've seen before. Then at about 12:30am when I stroked his brow while trying to help him sleep he was my little boy again.

Luckily I was supposed to work from home today so H went off to her leavers assembly and I looked after Alf whilst getting a bit of business sorted.

Then it was Alfie's leavers assembly. School said we could go in early so he could get a seat. We walked into the hall whilst all the other year 6 children were rehearsing. As soon as they saw him they all stopped, rushed up to him and started cheering and clapping, I was a little tearful to say the least.

The assembly was great, with the special video providing an extra element of surprise for the children (yes that is me in the toilet!).

Then home, Bill and Pete came and helped put up the Bick's Marquee, then out for a couple of beers.

Home now for a few days off..

large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.