EdgewoodGarden

By EdgewoodGarden

Unknown Hydrangea

Many years ago, I saw some pictures of blue-eyed hydrangeas sans names. With some research, I found that the white one was Mme. Emile Mouilliere (which I subsequently purchased) and I never was able to identify the other. However, I did find a dark red with blue eyes in a florist department of a grocery store. I bought two, one for a Mother’s Day present and the other to plant in my garden.

Since this was a forced hothouse plant, I removed all of the flowers, repotted the plant and coddled it in the hoop house for two years. The following year, I planted it in the garden. The plant is quite large and healthy now, though the size of the flowers has diminished in a natural setting and the color is a bit paler than it was when it was being forced. The centers are still blue, but it is a brief affair. They come out white, turn blue and then fade back to a pale color after a few days. Still, I am proud of taking this doomed plant and giving it a place in my garden. It rewards me with great flowers each summer.

(We had much needed rain today.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.