Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Me llamo...

Growing up i've gotten many pronunciations of my name. I've gotten G-mo, geh-mo (hard G), jee-mo, hem-mo (pronunciation according to Spanish rules, as I live in a predominantly Spanish speaking area), and to more unusual pronunciation such as jamal, jimbo, etc...

Well this is how you say it as transcribed above or like gem-mo. Like a gem, soft G. Really it's not that hard. I don't get why people can't get it right. I mean why would you say jee-mo or geh-mo (hard g). Logically wouldn't you think gem first?

Anyway, people always ask me to how did I get my name or where does it come from. Well it's not that exotic. Gemma is a more common name than mine, but mine is just the masculine form. Gemma, from what I've observed, is common in the UK. Well the usual story I tell people is that it's a combo name from my parents since my parents would always tell me it was a combo name from theirs.

Recently though, I did some research and I found my name on Italian Wikipedia, which you can find here. And my name is the masucline form of Gemma and it means "bud," "sprout," or it refers to the precious stone - a gem.

It's nice to know my name has Italian origins. Now I can tell people I'm Italian.

btw, I somewhat struggled reading the Italian wikipedia. It's kinda neat I can read Italian!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.