Snapdecisions

By HF1

Jack's Graduation at Southampton

Despite a bit of trepidation as to how the day would go for various reasons but we had a fantastic day and it all went unbelievably well. We all felt teary at times but Jack was bubbling with excitement. There was lots of hugging and high spirits. It was grand to see Jack so happy and to realise what great friends he had made in his four years.
I watched it on a screen relayed from the main hall and chatted to lots of Grandparents who didn't have a seat in the hall ; it allowed me to photograph and video the big screen! I caught Jack and his girlfriend Jess.
The photo shows P - ( proud Dad ) and me ( proud Step - Mum ) after the ceremony soon to be followed with a jug of Pimms in the shade. We met Jess' parents who farm in the Cotswolds .
Afterwards we all travelled on a pre arranged bus to the NOC ( national oceanographic centre) for the ubiquitous strawberries and speeches. I
I hadn't thought that I would feel teary but Jack has worked so hard and overcome some difficult times to achieve this that I did!
We nearly melted with the temperatures but the youngsters were celebrating tonight too. I hope the years are kind to all of them and they build on their achievements.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.