Margoyles

By mar

What's that cancer that starts with L Mom?

This was the question that smacked me in the face on Monday when I picked Charlotte up from school. I'm pretty open with Charlotte about everything and I pride myself on never reacting too much as to warrant a scared response. But must admit, I was shell-shocked. Charlotte explained that girls in drama group told her the Drama teacher's daughter, who is also a student at the school, was ill with cancer that began with L.

That night, after finding out that yes, D has leukaemia & was diangosed New Years Eve and started chemo New Years Day, I asked what we could do to help the family. Unfortunately, the Head has decided not to tell students, so I couldn't start a whip round without opening a can of unwanted worms. But did ask the parents what they wanted/needed and they said that D would love arts and crafts and she is really into New Moon. The PTFA committee agree for £50 to go on an Arts & Craft gift certificate, so that left New Moon (and Vampires which I know NOTHING about).

Tuesday morning, I put a tweet asking for ppl who knew anything about Vampires if they could help me. The responses was overwhelming and very heartfelt. Yesterday, I had The Official Illustrated Movie Companion amongst other books sent by the lovely Bookrabbit which I was able to hand to the Step-dad yesterday and today, this arrived. It's a Twilight New Moon Cast Signed Photo + Original 35mm New Moon Film Footage Framed that was sent from a dear Shropshire-based twitter-friend (@Saczik) who recently lost someone to Leukaemia and stated 'My best friends daughter died of leukemia 2008. So I couldn't get her a Xmas present this year. She'd want me to.' And yet another Twitter-friend is working on a Vampire-ish letter to give to D.

There are a lot of great, caring people in this world and sometimes it takes a negative to shine the light on the positives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.