Dana's Garden

I had my camera with me on my morning rounds, but then missed some of the best opportunities for pictures. I took a bag of tomatoes to Judy in Sebastopol. Not that she doesn't grow her own, but it is cooler over there, and theirs aren't ready yet. They have a batch of new chicks, ordered by mail (!) and raised in an incubator in their garage, which had just been put into their own coop. Eventually they will be free to join the rest of the flock, wandering through the olive orchard and the vineyard catching bugs under the watchful eye of the rooster. He will herd them to safety at the slightest sign of trouble. At dusk they all come head back to their coop for the night. I traded tomatoes for fresh eggs.

Dana was with me, and we went to the Barlow for crepes in the newly opened crepe shop and a little shopping. I should have photographed the crepe making process, but I was too fascinated watching the spreading of the batter in a thin layer with a special little wooden tool to remember my camera. Tamarind, a clothing boutique that strives to carry lines of clothing that are made in the US has attracted my attention lately. One of my favorite lines is Raquel Allegra, who says ,"If I can't sleep in it, I don't put it into the line…"

By the time I got home, the temperature was approaching 90F, and it was too hot to go outside for a final shot of Dana's garden, so I sketched what I could see through the french door from the library chair. I can't possibly do justice to Dana's eye for choice of plants and placement of everything on what was recently a ragged hole in the ground. There was a lot of lugging of dirt, rocks, and plants, and a lot of digging, involved, and Dana did the lion's share of the work. Thank you, Dana for a beautiful place to sit. We couldn't have done it without you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.