Day 2: Sketching by the River Don

Day two of our summer sketching outings on yet another beautiful day. Perhaps a little too warm for comfort and we needed to find places in the shade as we made our way from the Meadowhall Shopping Centre, along the River Don and then through the remnants of the once dominant Sheffield steel industry to the peace and traquility of the canal. I forgot to take my camera so I had to use my phone, which made quite a good job of taking notebook photos.

The photos are of Jan looking out over the river (the Buddleia is getting to be a real nuisance along this stretch of the river) with the weir and Forgemasters in the distance. A section of the Forgemasters building taken from the road. (Forgemasters is the largest of the remaining steelworks left in Sheffield.) Followed by the canal - a veritable oasis among this industrial/ post-industrial landscape, and then finally the Tinsley viaduct (M1 motorway) and back to Meadowhell.

An evening drive to Shafton for the interclub competition - the light was stunning with not a cloud to be seen. We won, which makes all the hard work of getting the whole thing sorted and sent off very worthwhile as it took me hours! My Three Winter Trees scored the full 20 marks which I was very pleased about. M our judge did such a fantastic job (not all of mine scored well so I'm not totally biased) and the quality of her feedback was outstanding and I really value the feedback I got on my images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.