Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

One Day I'll visit a place from a book

In November I was reading One DayDavid Nicholls and I found that some of the 'action' of the book had taken place in Rankeillor Street in Edinburgh.

Today I found myself in that part of town, outside that very place where the fictional account was set. The exact address wasn't right - the flat was supposed to be on the third floor at 17 Rankeillor Street, but it's a maindoor flat. It set me to thinking about whether writers really can't use real addresses or whether they should just make a street name up rather than use real street names.

I was on my way back from the Edinburgh Tourism Action Group meeting at John McIntyre Conference Centre, Pollock Halls, University of Edinburgh. The venue was great - fantastic facilities for a conference venue - main hall/conference room and comfortable break-out spaces for workshops.

Hoping to continue the thread of customer feedback which came out of the conference - an excellent speaker on the subject inspired me to want to go and find out more about how to engage with guests so that they want to give feedback about their experiences.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.