Mikey88

By Mikey88

Small Tortoiseshell

A pretty distressing start to the day this morning. I saw a cat run across the lawn, so went out to chase it off before it left a little present, but unusually, it climbed into the bush and then fell back when it tried to climb a fence into next door's garden. Then I noticed blood in its mouth. By this time it was lying at the foot of the fence, unable to get up, so I got a box and as gently as I could, managed to get it into the box and carried it to the house.

I had a vague idea where it lived, so I went out and fortunately bumped into someone who knew which house it was. It's owner was young mum with a seven year old and they were both pretty distressed. She knocked on a neighbour's door and between them arranged to get the cat to the vets.

I haven't heard what happened, yet, but I have a feeling that it won't be a happy outcome.

My blip is the best of today's butterfly shots, but is the best of a disappointing bunch. It's a small tortoiseshell basking on the tiles of the shed roof.

One good bit of news, I did an hour's work on the wall this evening and for the first time managed to move the big stone which I have been working to free from the roots holding it in place. Progress indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.