My Granny

This is the only photograph I have taken today. It's a pic of an old photograph of my paternal grandmother.

She is sitting by a barn which is next door to where I live now. She worked as a housekeeper for a doctor and my grandfather looked after his animals. My father was a baby at the time.

How weird that I met my husband in the village that was home to us both and went to live with him an hour away next door to where she lived and worked.

Granny was a go-getter and good people-manager. She bought the horticultural business that she used to manage in 1948. I have included this pic in a history of the family home written by my sister.

Fingers crossed for a good open house tomorrow. My sister and I have been dressing the house today. Lots of fresh flowers, more of the former owner's watercolours hung and a fan of histories artfully displayed on the dining table.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.