Pictorial blethers

By blethers

The heron and the floating dock

This is Loch Long, off the Firth of Clyde, at Ardentinny. If you look carefully, you will see a heron standing in the shallows on the left of the photo. It appears to be looking at the floating dock on the far side, a ridiculous eyesore that is used to work on Trident submarines when they are sick. (I'm being slightly fanciful here, but you get my drift). After I took this, we walked round to the beach on the extreme left of the pic, and I went in for the most ridiculously warm swim - if I swam gently without disturbing the top layer too much it was like a tepid bath. I was joined by a seal - I'd seen it passing, heading up the loch, and I was quite far out when it returned, saw me, and changed course to intercept mine. I reversed hastily; the idea of swimming with a seal appealed, but the reality seemed rather large, very fast, and possessed of very dirty teeth. (I've been told this; I couldn't see the teeth).

And when I eventually got out, there was a swan. Enough wildlife for anyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.