But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Compositae.

Neither myself or Mrs TD know what this garden plant is, I thought I was getting somewhere when Google threw up "Aster", but then I realised that the term is synonymous with compositae, a family that includes about half of all flowering plant species.
It looked rather striking in the sun and provided a welcome break from cutting the grass.

I was reminiscing a little this afternoon while watching the 4,000 metre pursuits at the Commonwealth Games on the television; as a youth I rather fancied myself as a pursuiter. Back in about 1970, a British lad, Ian Hallam, won the silver medal in an international competition (I thought it was the Commonwealth Games, but Google says I'm wrong) with a time of around 4:55 - today’s winning time was 4:19. Had Ian been in today’s final, he would have been caught within the first 1,500 metres - how I would have fared against Ian back in 1970, is best left to your imagination.

While riding in the “Tour of Britain,” a two week amateur stage race, one of Ian’s team mates developed a dental emergency; being a dentist he drove his friend over to his surgery after the day’s racing, the problem was sorted and they both continued racing as normal the next day. To the best of my knowledge this is the only recorded case of a dentist not charging for his services.


I’ve just posted yesterday’s “Rubbish.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.