The Rusty Club

Thirtysometing years ago my Dad. along with several other like minded folk, set up a club for those interested in restoring and using vintage farm machinery, they elaborately named it the Risborough and District Historical Farm Machinery Club........it's nickname soon became the Rusty Club!

The Club, it's members and organised events were a big part of my growing up, I loved it. Learning to Plough with Dad, hay carting, driving steam engines, watching Dad beaming from ear to ear as he pushed corn into the threshing machine, driving tractors to and from events, riding (and mostly falling off) motorbikes, BBQ's and just having huge fun! However, being a girl, I was not allowed to go to the monthly meetings........boy did I used to get cross!! I am not sure they have any female members now even............perhaps I should try and join!!

My Dad was treasurer right from the set up of the club and the club is thriving today with more members than ever. It has branched out a a little and now includes vintage cars and motorbikes. The Club meet monthly and have guest speakers etc but each July the gather together with their vehicles and hold a small competition for best kept vehicle and my Dads very good friend Bill won this year with his vintage car, he was so chuffed to have won Dad memorial trophy that he brought it up to show us. We knew that the Club had a trophy in Dad's memory but this is first time we had seen it.

The Field Marshall Tractor used as the trophy is so fitting as it was a dream come true for my Dad when he was able to purchase and fully restore his own (which is now in my safe keeping although not used and cared for as much as I would like)

Very happy memories indeed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.