filledwithlight

By filledwithlight

Dress Rehearsal

Sorry I've been AWOL from blipping for a while; it's been a busy summer, hosting my husband's cousin from Italy for a couple weeks, Italian conversation classes, and the usual. I hope I'll be back in blipping mode again now, and hope to back blip a bunch of photos from the last couple weeks.

I had so much fun at the Fluid Movement dress rehearsal last night! Our little chorus is singing a few songs before their performance this year - the theme is the War of 1812. This is the bicenteninal of the end of the war, when Baltimore played a large part in defending the U.S. from our current friends across the pond. The battle here is where our National Anthem was written, and there will be many more festivities this September when the actual anniversary of that battle takes place.

I love Fluid Movement. This group of fun-loving amateur performers put on a show that is so campy, fun, goofy, and joyful, it's a new highlight of the season for me. The performance includes women with huge blond wigs and water balloons stuffed in their swim suits to imitate Dolly Parton (another Dolly was First Lady at the time), "War: what is it good for?" for the anti-war protesters, and the disco number "It's Raining Men" for the British General who said he didn't care if it rained militiamen in Baltimore. And did I mention this is all part of a water ballet? So fun, so Baltimore!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.