Let Sleeping Deer Lie

I've had an epic day of cycling today. I fitted my cycle carrier to my car and headed off towards the Charnwood Forest area of Leicestershire. I cycled down through Woodhouse Eaves, down a farm track towards and around Swithland Reservoir, before heading into Rothley. As I passed under the Great Central Railway a steam train headed out over the viaduct that crosses Swithland reservoir.

After passing through the very quaint village of Swithland I cycled across the dam for Cropston Reservoir, and then turned into Bradgate park. There were loads of people out walking along the main drive through the park, so progress was slow and careful. At the Newton Linford end there were even more people. Very close to the path were various groups of Fallow Deer. I've never seen them so close to the path, certainly with so many people around. Some of the small children with mesmerised by being so close to the Deer.

I particularly liked these two who were laid down in the shade of a tree, just chilling.

I carried on through to Newton Linford, before heading back through Bradgate Park. I called in at the Deer Barn tearoom for a bit of refuelling in form of a bit of Chocolate Cake.

After leaving Bradgate Park I then I had to climb back up to the car park. This was nearly 3 miles of constant climbing, which was pretty hard going at times. Some of the stretches were long and straight, but always upwards. After a little down hill section came the final brutal climb to the top of Beacon Hill which is the highest point of Leicestershire.

The good thing about being at the top of Leicestershire, is the ride down to the bottom, I hit 28mph. There was one final sharp climb back to the car park, but I had clocked up 25 miles, which is a lot further than I normally do, and it was nice to ride on different roads and see different scenery. I also feel very satisfied with my cycling, as the last time I cycled around this area I really struggled on some of the hills, and I admit I had to get off and push the bike sometimes, but not today, and I cycled up Beacon Hill!!

I now feel a little tired, so tomorrow might be a bit quieter for me listening to the first day of the 3rd Test Match.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.