Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Flying Around...

Well, the good news is the travellers didn't return during the night and dump their load. Fingers crossed, someone else has upset them and I'm a distant memory...

Not long after my wife got to work, she phoned me to say she'd brought a case of raspberries, again, and could I pick them up. It was near 30c and they were reduced as they were on their last legs. On the way, I got a call out which was not far away, so that was lucky. I picked the box up and packed them all in my electric cool box I always keep in the back of the car.

I had a call booked for 4pm in Abergavenny, and on the way there drove through the country lanes. I saw an amazing red telephone box, with a golden crown on top, that had been converted into a greenhouse. (I thought it was my blip, but on downloading the box had the reflection of a white van that was parked opposite. With the glare, I wasn't happy.)

On getting home, some inconsiderate driver had parked on the pavement partially blocking one of our three drives, the one I was using for the car I had! Grrr.... there's a big sign on the gate advising no obstruction as the entrance is in continual use. I left a note. Probably someone else that has me ear marked for revenge.

The motorways are fairly clear. I presume parents have got to their holiday destinations and have let their screaming kids run riot, as they sink a drink with their campsite neighbours.

The children next door haven't gone away yet. I can hear them. Good job there's no trampoline. Tonight I could smell them. The bar-b-cue was wafting smells across to my conservatory.

Only one thing left, other than to post a van reflection in a phone box, was to go out and get one. 20 minutes and I was in Cardiff Bay. It was heaving. Loads of women in summer skirts and many in a lot less. The Bay had been made into a beach again, and housed a fayre. I got one of the Old Pier Head Building with a ride outside.

I like it: I think it was worth the trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.