Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Cold Calling On A Hot Day

Today was hot and I was sat in my living room as it was cooler than the conservatory, which is warm in the morning and cool in the evening. I saw a van pull up outside and the doorbell went.

It was a 'traveller', who presented me with his card and went on about how he could sort my drive out, with guarantee in writing, etc. My drive is compressed concrete block sytle and doesn't need anything. It's maintenance free. I politely told him I wasn't interested where upon he asked for his card back. As he walked along the path I heard him mutter to his mate sat in the van that I was a waste of time. Well, this got me heckled,
    "You should read the sign" as I pointed to my doorbell sign "it says no cold calling"
     Traveller " You need to make it bigger!"
     Me, ".....and you need to get some glasses!"

He muttered something else, which I couldn't make out, as he got in his van and they drove off. No doubt I'll get a pile of gone off tarmac, from a job someone gullible will have let them do, dumped on my drive now as a reply to my sarcasm!

My 'boss' phoned me up to apologise for a lack of work but gave me a job tomorrow afternoon in Abergavenny. I can be back in time for the Sainsburys Rose wine drop off between 6pm and 7pm, so it'll do me.

Knowing I wouldn't get anything for a few hours I made my way to Raglan Castle, about 15 minutes drive from The Coldra roundabout, Newport. The M4 was busy. Probably parents taking kids off to places they can run round, scream and shout.

On arrival at the castle, I flashed my CADW card for free entry, and walked around in a photographers paradise. As I did so, an elderly gents phone went off. I could hear him say he hadn't been involved in any accident and wasn't making any claim. His voice got louder as the person on the other end persisted. Another cold caller annoyingly spoiling someones day.

Any government making 'cold calling' illegal would get in power any day. Are they a pain or what?

Anyway, I've had my moan and now is the heavy bit with a little cultural history:

Raglan castle is a late medieval, located just north of the village of Raglan in the county of Monmouthshire in south east Wales. The modern castle dates from between the 15th and early 17th-centuries, when the successive ruling families of the Herberts and the Somersets created a luxurious, fortified castle, complete with a large hexagonal keep, known as the Great Tower or the Yellow Tower of Gwent.

Surrounded by parkland, water gardens and terraces, the castle was considered by contemporaries to be the equal of any other in England or Wales. During the English Civil War the castle was held on behalf of Charles I and was taken by Parliamentary forces in 1646. In the aftermath, the castle was slighted, or deliberately put beyond military use; after the restoration of Charles II, the Somersets declined to restore the castle.
Raglan Castle became first a source of local building materials, then a romantic ruin, and is now a modern tourist attraction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.