Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

It's About Time

I'm sure there are many other photographers who have slides that they would like to digitize, but don't exactly relish the work involved in doing it themselves. My slide collection goes back to April 1966, when my son was six months old. I took many photos of him and the two daughters who arrived after him in fairly rapid succession. Naturally, they all would like to have copies of the family photos, and the frequency of requests has been steadily increasing. I finally decided it was time to do something -- hence the title of this blip.

C pointed out that the title was actually a double-entendre, since it could also refer to the time demands of my other interests besides photography. But I'm digressing.

I realized that I really didn't want to spend my time scanning the slides myself, so I'm researching commercial slide scanning services. I found one US company that looks promising. They've got impressive reviews and their prices are competitive -- the work is done in Bangalore. I haven't decided which service to use yet.

Meanwhile, I'm sorting and culling slides I haven't looked at for a long time. It's a lot more fun than scanning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.