In Loving Memory

After a lovely day yesterday, things took a more sombre turn today with the news that my Step-father has died.

He's been ill for a while; in hospital for the last 3 weeks and he's certainly put up a good fight. Sadly, this wasn't enough and at the age of 64, he passed away last night.

Today was meant to be a family day for Mums birthday, but instead I've spent the day with my sister (he was her Dad) offering support and giving her a break from Theo.

She's only recently got back in touch with her Dad, so I've been trying to console her with the fact that at least they saw each other and had reconciled before he died. He's been sedated for the most part of his time in hospital, but woke up briefly on Wednesday to see her at his bedside.
I'm sure he would have taken comfort in seeing her there.

I've not seen or spoken to him in years, but he was a great Dad to us both, firm but fair, and always treated me as his own; but he & Mum divorced after 7 years, our lives moved on and our contact dwindled.

He remarried & had a new family; my heart goes out to them all at this sad time.

Rest in peace Tony.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.