CharlottesWorldWideWeb

By CharlotteJ

Windmills, boats, cheese, clogs and red light!

We have had a very long but lovely day! We went on an organised trip to see windmills, cheese and clogs. We went to Volendam and Marken and learnt lots about windmills, cheese, clog making and fishing towns. A Dutch man can apparently eat 21kgs of cheese a year and for that they have to have one cow for four people! That's a lot of cheese!!! 16million people and 4million cows....mind boggling.

The clog demonstration was interesting and the host rather amusing.

Upon return to the city we had a bite to each and then I couldn't resist having a look at the 'red light district'. I wish I hadn't as it makes me sad to see such pretty girls selling themselves. I know the industry here is regulated but I just can't help but feel that there is a better way to earn money. We didn't stay for long!!

Well I guess I can say I've seen it and I don't plan on returning! Tomorrow will be spent mooching around the Van Gogh museum and perhaps a cruise around the canals. We wanted to go to Anne Franks House but sadly tickets sold out a month ago which is a real shame.

We are now back at our hotel (we are away from the main bustle of the city) and I think I'm ready for bed!!

Cxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.