... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Tooting Terrapin

Even less subtle in large ("L").
Back blip.

Hum, well, this was hardly keeping a low profile...

I rarely visit the pond on Tooting Bec Common, but have seen a terrapin there before and wondered, when I went to see what life there was on the pond at the moment, whether I'd see it again. Well, the terrapin was the first life that I saw; there it was basking on this log! It is a rather splendid creature (a yellow-bellied terrapin/slider), even if it does look very out of place in south-west London.
There were lots of tufted ducklings (diving away) and I also saw the pair of Egyptian geese there (they had no goslings with them, but they're fairly useless parents so may just have lost them already...). I'd heard that there were swans on the pond but saw no sign of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.