... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Goosle Goslings: Becoming Goosier

Cuter and smilier in large ("L").

This is the smaller of the two goslings. This one is the calmer of the two, and is also fluffier than the other one as it is yet to lose a major tuft of fluffy down on the back of its head (which is catching the light here).

I visited the Goosles this morning when the sun was out: I had the 24-70mm lens mounted. They mostly grazed and rested; the two goslings nestled against each other by the edge of the pond and both looked thoroughly uncomfortable... They kept stretching their wings and extending their legs into awkward positions. One has definitely started the "my wing is too heavy" phase, and they droop down when it is standing still.
While I was watching them, there were three little damselflies flitting about in the grasses next to me, and one landed nearby having caught another insect on the wing. I set the lens to 70mm and got close to take some pictures: I cropped the resulting images a lot but was still pleased with the macro-esque results. Here is my favourite: damselfly with prey.

When I returned in the afternoon the clouds had rolled in and it started to rain while I was there. The Goosles couldn't have seemed less fussed, but the weather deteriorated and eventually drove me away... I got some pictures of them in the rain before heading home though: I got my blip above, and also took a picture of Mrs. which I've uploaded to blipfolio.Mrs. Goosle: she's v. pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.