... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Battersea Park Peace Pagoda

More peaceful in large ("L")?

This is the London Peace Pagoda which was built in 1985;
I don't actually know much about it but here is the Battersea Park website page on it. When I was at primary school, we did a sponsored walk around and around it (not in a small dizzying circle, but a large rectangular path...) so I feel that I ought to know more about it perhaps...
It is a rather striking monument; it doesn't seem (to me) any more peaceful than the park around it, but its aim is to inspire peace. There are Peace Pagodas in cities all around the world, most of which were constructed under the guidance of a particular monk (Nichidatsu Fujii) in a particular Buddhist order (Nipponzan-Myouhouji) whose intention was to provide a system of spiritual focal points in an effort to unite people in world peace.

I was in Battersea Park to celebrate a friend's birthday: we played rounders and had a picnic which was very jolly! It was perfect British picnic weather: warm, sunny (at times), drizzly (at times), and as the evening approached, the sky cleared and the light became beautiful. What a fun afternoon!

I took photographs of the Goosles this afternoon (on my way to Battersea Park...): the water was looking particularly beautiful so I may try to find space in my blipfolio for a picture or two. I saw one of the goslings doing flappy dance (!), but it was on the island at the time and I didn't have my teleconverter fitter (D'oh!). I think it did that on purpose, naughty gosling... I'll be back tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.