Tiger impersonator!

I got back in the early evening from a whole day in London and went for a rejuvenating little stroll around the garden. Suddenly I spotted a fragment of black, white and yellow patterning buried deep within a mass of bindweed leaves. I immediately thought I'd found one of the tiger moths and got quite excited. As I parted the leaves to reveal the moth it was even holding its wings in a triangular shape, just like a tiger moth, but I could see straight away that the pattern was wrong. It is the much more common Magpie Moth, which normally holds its forewings out more sideways, revealing the underwings more clearly. It is still a first record for my garden, so that's great...and I can carry on dreaming about finding a tiger at the bottom of the garden!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.