Sourdough

Here I am complaining about the weather again. Dark skies, fog - but what a good excuse to stay inside and bake.

This is today's sourdough offering - you're very welcome to call round and have a piece.

It's an apricot and pecan malt loaf, made with a sour dough starter.

I don't know how it is in other parts of the world, but it's becoming harder and harder to find liquid malt extract in this country. It's probably out of fashion, and commercial bakers don't seem to make malt loaves at all, not like in the UK.

But then I had an Epiphany (baking-wise). I thought beer, I thought malt - so I called into our local brew shop, and there it was on the shelf - freeze dried powdered malt in two flavours - light and dark. So I bought a pack of each. And it's brilliant, and so much easier to handle than liquid malt. I have no real idea on how much to use, so I'm upping the quantity every time I make one.

Gee, but it gives the loaf a great flavour and texture.

They also had malted grain, but that's going to have to wait until I get my own small milling machine. I kid you not, I'm saving up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.