WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Two's company

... six is an orgy. I spotted these on my way to the pool this morning. They were perched on some wild carrot seedheads doing what bugs do. Unfortunately it was blowing a gale and it was really hard to grab a photo of the wildly lashing stem. But once again the wee camera did well.

Combi31 blipped some of these in a more discreet pose a couple of days ago, so I knew they were graphosoma italicum. So I googled and found a website in French dedicated to bugs, with a page about the lifecycle of les punaises arlequins. No apologies for linking to a page in French, because Lucie's photos and her dedication and patience are really impressive. I think this will be my go-to resource when I want to find out about bugs, and if you are into macro insect photography I recommend browsing her site even if you can't read French.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.