The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

...All together in a floral dance!

I've given this a 1970s filter, because that might have been the last time I heard the Floral Dance, when Terry Wogan had a hit with it in 1978. Tonight the St Minver Silver Band, which dates back to 1910, gave a concert in Polzeath centre, beside the beach. I was late, having just stepped out to view the sunset from the coast path, but having heard the strains of band music drifting across the sands.

Fortunately I was in time to see them doing their final march along the street. They stopped outside the half-dozen shops and, to my amazement, families formed circles and began to dance. I never knew that there was an actual dance to go with the tune! It didn't look as complicated as, say, The Birdie Dance or the Lambada, and there were no handbags being danced around, as there were in my youth. Everyone seemed to be having a high old time, and I wished I'd got there earlier.

It was a lazy sort of day. I woke too early, then overslept. We left for the beach at the hottest time)!) and lay there getting crisped without realising. I got the world's best-ever pizza for lunch (a gluten-free mountain goat) which we ate on the beach, along with a citron presse. The tide was miles out. Then a kids' roadshow with amplification came along, and I decided it was time to move.

Hours later, we took the car out to the next beach, Daymer Bay. The weather had clouded over but I got some good rock pool shots. I'd like to go there at low tide, as then the beach would be immense. Parts of it get cut off at higher tide. We drove past a turn off for a beach and valley that we hope to visit tomorrow, and then found a place on the cliffs above Polzeath, in the area called New Polzeath, where we can have breakfast from a handy little van.

A sign caught my eye
"No Parking, Camping, or Overnight Sleeping".
Someone had changed the Sleeping to Leaping.
Quite apt, as it was on a clifftop.

I took 99 pictures today, but chose to blip this one, as the dance was for me so unexpected, and, in its own way, marvellous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.