An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Mystery of Maggie Wall...

The first time I saw this monument it sent shivers down my spine.

As we drove towards it I automatically assumed it was a war memorial of some sort, perhaps a village's tribute to a local lad sent off to war and never returning. I got D to slow down as we approached it and discovered it was something very different indeed and it has captivated me ever since. This is the third time I've photographed it but the first time I've blipped it.

For me, one of the strangest things about it is people visit and leave little gifts. All sorts of odd little knick knacks. There was even a fresh bunch of flowers there today. The monument is maintained and looked after but no one knows by whom.

More on the fascinating story of Maggie Wall HERE.


Things are as hectic here as ever, more so infact!

First of all, we had a fantastic holiday in Cornwall. I won't say too much as I will back blip (when I get round to editing the 600 photos I took!) but it really was wonderful. Having Marion and Ed there to help out with Alan made a huge difference and this is the first holiday in a long time where D and I have come home and actually feel rested. Usually we feel ready for another holiday!

I was so sad to leave Cornwall and have left a little bit of my heart there. We will definitely be back.

So back to today.

Up with the larks and enjoyed the great sense of achievement that came with loading the last pile of holiday washing into the washing machine. Ed and Alan headed off to Dundee for the day and I headed to the library in Perth where Alan's new Support Workers were taking part in day one of three days of induction. I went along to talk about how D & I see them fitting into our family life and to talk a bit more about Alan. They are all so lovely. I really hope it all works out.

Anna M & Gill are coming tomorrow afternoon. This will be their first proper day on the job and we felt it would be good for them to double up to start with. It's really just to spend time getting to know Alan as they can't do any manual handling till they complete their training on Monday. Alan is really excited about them starting, so that's a relief.

In other news, I am busy getting organised for our Silver Wedding Anniversary weekend. Can't believe it's come round so quickly. I ordered some "special" gifts for David today get your minds out the gutter you lot! which will definitely be blipped next week. I laugh every time I think about them. :)))

Time for bed said Zebedee showing my age here ;-). Hoping (yet again!) to catch up with you all soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.