Stargazers

The lilies don't last long, but while they are in bloom, they are a total delight! Say hello to the stargazer lilies that are blooming their fool pink heads off in our front flower bed.

I usually try to fit in a quick stop or two on my way to work for photos. I had been planning to work at home on this day. However, when I got up in the morning, the Internet was down at our house. (Both phone and Internet had been out Tuesday morning, but the situation had rectified itself by the time I got home from work on Tuesday night.)

So it turned out that on Wednesday, I had to go into the office anyway. Zip-zoom, suddenly I was showering! and driving! and in the office! Alas, the only morning photos I had time for were a few quick shots of the pink lilies blooming in our yard, before I got into my car to drive to work.

Sidebar: Did you ever stop to think how much you use the Internet? My husband and I use it to get weather forecasts (including exactly when is the rain going to start), for TV listings, purchases, current events, shopping coupons, financial information, music, taxes, concert tickets, e-mail, work, social networking, ordering library books, you name it. How distressing it feels to be . . . disconnected. (Yes, I still have had Internet at work, but only at work, at least for these past few days.) The Internet company was contacted; they say we should be back online sometime Thursday evening. Let's hope so.

Update on sidebar: Internet is back up and in working order by just after noon Thursday. Hooray!

The song: Siouxsie and the Banshees, Stargazer.


P.S. These are lilies, and lilies are beautiful; however, they can be deadly to cats. Read more about cats and lily toxicity here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.