One day at a time...

By JonRayner

Neil Armstrong

Continuing on from the last two days theme of street art, here is another one from Rocket01. I never knew this one existed until I read about it on his web site and it is less than a stones throw from the David Attenborough art!

From his web site:

"A spot became available to paint on Arundel Street recently .. It wasn't your typical wall space.
Down a little side street there was a small rendered concrete space about 6ft square on the side of a local record store. I'd been thinking of something suitable to paint on there and it just happened that I had recently done a pencil drawing of Neil Armstrong which was of similar dimensions to the wall space.

A real bonus to the spot was that it was literally 'just feet' away from the David Attenborough wall I painted. It seemed right that I should continue the message I had tried to portray with the David Attenborough piece, using the green tones in solidarity with nature and the badges !

Neil Armstrong did something amazing, he was the first man to walk on the moon, if there was ever a man to champion the spirit of mankind, he was that man.
When he looked back at planet Earth from the moon he must have realised that all these petty wars, governments and problems mean nothing in the grand scheme of things.
The ultimate goal of mankind is to survive, evolve and move forward !

The finished piece was well received by people who lived and worked on the street. Unknown to me at the time were the office workers a few floors up in the building behind me who had been watching me from the beginning. When i'd finished and packed up my things I was about to walk away when I heard a huge round of applause from the office workers leaning out of their windows :)"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.