JuneFox

By JuneFox

Follow the leader ...

My friend, Julia, and I set off on our usual walking route this morning. However when we got down to the bottom of Elstree Hill, instead of walking along the A41 dual carriageway, we decided to take a public footpath to the left thinking it would run parallel to the A41. It didn't - it wound its way back up hill, following the edges of the fields and eventually brought us back out at the top of Elstree. Which was fine as we followed our route back down past Edgwarebury Farm.

Following this new route, passing various fields, Julia said "Look there's some sheep over there". I looked, and as they raised their heads, thought - they have rather long necks to be sheep! They weren't, they were alpacas - in Edgware - we were astounded.

When I got home I searched the internet and couldn't find any reference to there being alpacas in Edgware. I did have to do a bit of research as I wasn't sure if they were alpacas or llamas. But they are definitely alpacas as they have short spear-shaped ears, a fine single coat and they are about half the size of a llama, weighing approximately 100 and 175 lbs (not that I popped the scales out and weighed one!).

Just shows - you don't know what's on your own doorstep!

In the evening I met my friend Hal for a few drinks and something to eat in a nice little pub in Mill Hill Village. It was lovely to catch up - he's totally mad and always makes me laugh!!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.