Day Two

This is day two of my volunteering at the Commonwealth Games. In this picture you can see my area during the Diving competitions; the Mixed Zone.

So this is where the press interviews take place. After the athletes have finished their dives they are contractually obligated to pass through the mixed zone (this side of the green barrier). The press (print media only - broadcast are in another area to the left of the shot) are then stationed behind the barrier. It's my team's job to make sure the athletes come through this area and the press behave as they should.

What I have found that I love about this job is that I get to see both sides. When they're diving they are athletes, but when you get to be behind the scenes, you also see them as people. England's 13 year old Victoria Vincent came through today and seeing her in the mixed zone reminded you that some of them are also normal, down-to-earth, grounded kids. This of course makes them all the more incredible. I am full of awe.

In other news, I picked up my press accreditation for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and booked my first batch of shows to review. I also met up with Hannah and we managed to get free (non-reviewing) tickets and went to two shows:

1. The Art of Falling Apart - a 2 man show about a modern day mam's midlife crisis.

2. Forgotten Voices - a performance that hears oral testimonies of the veterans of World War One.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.