Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

To School

I've abandoned my plan to use my Tokina 60-300. As it's a Nikon mount, the adaptor needs to have a glass element (or two, it seems, as that's what's in this one) in order to focus at any sort of distance. Those bits of glass are truly horrible, and I think responsible for the awful smeary look of almost every photo. Remove the glass (if it is even glass...) from the adaptor, and image quality improves - but of course it's only then good (ish...) for macros. The 50mm on a reversing ring is better, and with a quick test just now, my 28mm might even be better again.

So. All that is just by long-winded way of saying I give up - on the Tokina, at any rate - and have gone back to my original plan of using my takette.

This was something I just shot off mid-stride, without aiming, really just to check I had remembered my hyperfocal setting correctly, and had set exposure properly. It turned out to be rather neat, I think. This lad looks pretty happy to be heading to school.

Click to ensmilenate.

Takumar Bayonet 1:2.8 28mm on Pentax K-30 at f/5.6

For reference, this is the absolute sharpest and best-focused thing I got with the Tokina. This followed maaaaaannnny smeary and fuzzy shots. It's just all too frustrating. If, with less than 10% decent shots, this is the best I can get, I would be bald at the end of the month if I forced myself to use it.

So yay I get to play with my takette for another month. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.